Skip to content

Amazement with Nursing Students: How do they do it?

September 9, 2009

I was reminded this week, by one of my students that happened into my office, how busy nurses and nursing students are. She is not even aware that she raised this issue of ‘busyness’ with me; it is only by the chance wandering of her into my office that triggered this post. This particular student is a full-time nurse, has children, and is going back to school to get a bachelor’s degree in nursing, something we should have given to her with her original nursing degree… but that is another soapbox and post.

Not only is she working 40+ hours per week, married, raising children, and taking a full-time load of college courses (with clinical requirements mind you)… she also serves as part of our national guard. Did I mention that her husband is in school full time too? Yet, she appeared in my door way chipper, encouraging, and ahead on her reading and assignments in class. Her dedication is apparent. I had to wonder… How does she do it?

Just as she happened by I was brooding, self-pitying, and thinking about complaining about the demands of my educator job and my personal schooling (which are both Wonderful… but at that moment I was groaning like a spoiled child). However, in light of her schedule and yet her personal choices to be positive and head of the ‘game’, I had to choose to squelch my complaining and consider taking her approach to encouraging others.

To you student nurses and nurses who are going back to school to advance your knowledge I want to encourage you. The path you are taking is the ‘one less traveled’  and it will make all the difference for your patients, for your profession, for your ability to lead and mentor. Hang in there and take Robert Frost’s analysis to heart.

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference

…Robert Frost

Hang in there and call me if you need a pep talk.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 2:14 am

    Hi!

    Congratulations! Your readers have submitted and voted for your blog at The Daily Reviewer. We compiled an exclusive list of the Top 100 nursing Blogs, and we are glad to let you know that your blog was included! You can see it at http://thedailyreviewer.com/top/nursing

    You can claim your Top 100 Blogs Award here : http://thedailyreviewer.com/pages/badges/nursing

    P.S. This is a one-time notice to let you know your blog was included in one of our Top 100 Blog categories. You might get notices if you are listed in two or more categories.

    P.P.S. If for some reason you want your blog removed from our list, just send an email to angelina@thedailyreviewer.com with the subject line “REMOVE” and the link to your blog in the body of the message.

    Cheers!

    Angelina Mizaki
    Selection Committee President
    The Daily Reviewer
    http://thedailyreviewer.com

Leave a Reply

