Skip to content

Woman Challenge by the USDHHS: Can I do it?

May 11, 2009

Look, I am a couch potato at heart. I love to eat popcorn and Mexican food and sit on the couch to rest my tired brain after a day of doctoral coursework, teaching overload, volunteering and raising 3 kids, dog and husband. See how I am garnering your sympathy for my lack of exercise? Excuses,  excuses,  excuses…. Well no more! I am going to give this 8 week thing a try and let you know how it works out.

A challenge is being planned just for us women. The United States Department of Health and Human Services starts a health challenge Monday May 10th for the Chicks! We have a higher risk of heart disease, osteoporosis, depression, fibromyalgia, etc… all of which are best treated by exercise. You would think that I, a seasoned health professional (notice I didn’t say “wise health professional” or even “effective health professional” just seasoned) would be quite active already. At times in my life I have been, I have jogged (not run) a few short races and even once a half-marathon; still I had a week last week where I did not exercises even once. How many of you can relate?

Well, join me and others and maybe we can get ourselves motivated to do something good for ourselves and for the people that have to be around us (I know how bad my mood can get and somehow a little exercise seems to cure that too). The Woman Challenge:  http://www.womenshealth.gov/woman/woman-challenge/  

The Woman Challenge - May 10-July 4, 2009 - womenshealth.gov - Join

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 17, 2009 6:58 pm

    One week down and feeling good. Can I make it 7 weeks?

Leave a Reply

